Venue hire For lease Have your say Contact us search arrow Subscribe
Harbour Trust Community Advisory Committee exploring Cockatoo Island's Convict Precinct.

Community and committees

The Harbour Trust engages with the community via a range of channels, guided by our Stakeholder Engagement Strategy.

The volunteer members of our two Community Advisory Committees (CAC) play a key role, representing diverse community interests and perspectives and providing input into the ways we engage stakeholders in the management of our places. At this time, we have a General CAC and a project-specific Sub Base Platypus CAC. We are also in the process of forming a new First Nations Advisory Group.

    Stakeholder Engagement Strategyarrow
  • Published in 2022, our Stakeholder Engagement Strategy outlines our approach to engaging with a diverse set of community stakeholders. This strategy is assisting us to fulfil our vision, which includes making our protected places accessible to diverse audiences, amplifying their heritage values through storytelling and – through their conservation, remediation, and adaptive reuse – fostering a sense of place and belonging. 

    Community Advisory Committees arrow
  • The Harbour Trust consults Community Advisory Committees (CACs), established in accordance with Part 8 (Section 57) of the Sydney Harbour Federation Trust Act 2001. Our general CAC offers balanced advice and recommendations to assist us with making informed decisions about our sites. Each CAC member contributes to the creation and maintenance of vibrant places on the World’s Best Harbour.

    General CAC
    • Anne Clarke
    • Cathy Griffin
    • Chido Mauwa
    • Glyn Evans
    • Jeremy Kenna
    • Linda O'Malley
    • Lisa Trueman
    • Peter Doukas OAM
    • Rebecca Cardy
    • Sheila Foliaki-Singh
    • Yolande Stone
    • Trudy Phelps

    Ex-Officio Members

    • Zali Steggall MP, Member for Warringah
    • CMDR Kent Browning, HMAS Penguin
    • Cr Zac Miles, Mayor of Hunter’s Hill
    • Cr Richard Shields, Mayor of Woollahra
    • Cr Carolyn Corrigan, Mayor of Mosman
    • Cr Zoë Baker, Mayor of North Sydney
    • Cr Sue Heins, Mayor of Northern Beaches
    • Kylea Tink MP, Member for North Sydney
    • Allegra Spender MP, Member for Wentworth
    • Anthony Albanese MP, Prime Minister and Member for Grayndler
    Further information
    First Nations Advisory Grouparrow
  • As part of a commitment to acknowledging, respecting and working alongside First Nations people, the Harbour Trust established a First Nations Advisory Group in October 2023. The members of this group are assisting us to create an environment where Traditional Owners are able to strengthen their connection with Harbour Trust sites; First Nations peoples feel welcome at the places we protect; and members of the broader Australian community can learn about – and engage with – the First Nations peoples’ historic and ongoing connection to Sydney Harbour.

    The members of the First Nations Advisory Group are:

    • Alison Page (Chair)
    • Donna Daly
    • Chris Ingrey (La Perouse Local Aboriginal Land Council)
    • Bryce Liddle
    • Jessie Longbottom
    • Nathan Moran (Metropolitan Local Aboriginal Land Council)
    • Lloyd Walker
    • Peter White

    Further information
    • First Nations Advisory Group Meeting Notes (See: Publications)

Helpful links

Interested in learning more about the Harbour Trust and our protected places on Sydney Harbour? Check out the below links.