arrow Kids Corner
EN language selector search
EN arrow Contact search arrow Subscribe

Advisory committees

The Harbour Trust works with two Community Advisory Committees as well as an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Advisory Group.

The volunteer members of our two Community Advisory Committees (CACs) meet with us as required to share advice and recommendations on the use of our lands. We are also collaborating with our Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Advisory Group on the implementation of our Reconciliation Action Plan (see: Publications), adopted in 2018.

    Community Advisory Committees arrow
  • The Harbour Trust consults Community Advisory Committees (CACs), established in accordance with Part 8 (Section 57) of the Sydney Harbour Federation Trust Act 2001. Our general CAC and Sub Base Platypus CAC offer balanced advice and recommendations to assist us with making informed decisions about our sites. Each CAC member contributes to the creation and maintenance of vibrant places on the World’s Best Harbour.

    General CAC Sub Base Platypus CAC
    • Robert Crawford
    • Sarah Dinning
    • Kate Eccles
    • Paul Forward
    • Colleen Godsell
    • Julie Goodsir
    • Geoffrey Lambert
    • Beth Lawsen
    • Jill L’Estrange
    • Prof. Roy Macleod
    • Matthew Rafferty
    • Robyn Lewis
    • Rita Chowdhury
    • John Trotman
    • Stewart Sprott
    • Kate Evers
    • Malcolm Moir


    Ex-Officio Members

    • Zali Steggall MP, Member for Warringah
    • Cdr Michael Nipperess
    • Cr Zac Miles, Mayor of Hunter’s Hill
    • Cr Susan Wynne, Mayor of Woollahra
    • Cr Carolyn Corrigan, Mayor of Mosman
    • Cr Zoë Baker, Mayor of North Sydney
    • Cr Michael Regan, Mayor of Northern Beaches
    • Phil Burford
    • Tammy Dodd
    • Paul Forward
    • Neil Schafer
    • Captain Chris Skinner
    • Christopher Stapleton
    • Ken Williams


    Ex-Officio Members

    • Zoë Baker, Mayor of North Sydney

    Further information

    Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Advisory Grouparrow
  • The Harbour Trust’s vision for reconciliation is for all Australians to recognise and celebrate the cultures and histories of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as well as their continuing connections to the historically significant sites under our stewardship.

    In support of this vision, and to deepen our relationships with First Nations Peoples across our organisation, we adopted an Innovate Reconciliation Action Plan (RAP), outlining the key initiatives we plan to undertake from June 2018.

    The implementation of our RAP is being overseen, monitored and championed by an internal RAP Working Group in close collaboration with our Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Advisory Group.

    The advisory group consists of six senior First Nations leaders who provide us with high-level strategic advice and direction, and meet once to twice a year to discuss key agenda items. 

    Advisory Group members

    Professor Dennis Foley: Dennis identifies as Koori. His matrilineal connection is Gai-mariagal of northern Sydney, and his patrilineal connection is to the Wiradjuri people of the Turon River region. Currently, Dennis is stationed at the University of Canberra, where he teaches Entrepreneurship and is a specialist researcher into Aboriginal Entrepreneurship, nationally and internationally. Founding Director, NSW Indigenous Chamber of Commerce. Interest in Indigenous education issues and native title and their impact on economic development and well-being.

    Uncle Roy Mundine OAM: The Army’s first Indigenous Elder and awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia 1987. Roy is a member of the Bandjalung people. Before his retirement as WO1 in 1995, Uncle Roy served in Malaya in 1959 with 1RAR and had two tours in South Vietnam with 5RAR in 1966 and 1969.

    Djon Mundine OAM: A member of the Bandjalung people of northern New South Wales, and a curator, writer, artist and activist. He has held prominent curatorial positions in many national and international institutions, including the Art Gallery of New South Wales, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sydney and Queensland Art Gallery

    Peter White: Currently working at Create NSW as Senior Manager, Aboriginal Strategy and Engagement. Peter White is a Gamilaroi Murri man from north-west NSW who has held a number of senior positions in major cultural institutions and government arts agencies. Peter is currently a freelance adviser on First Peoples’ cultural and creative development.

    Susan Moylan-Coombs: Susan is a proud Gurindji Woolwonga woman, the founding director of the Gaimaragal Group, and a founding Board member of PTSD Australia New Zealand. She is also the founder and current Co-Chair of Gai-mariagal (formerly Guringai) Festival Committee, the Caber-ra Nanga project collaborator with Relationship Australia NSW, and Culture Keeper for Northern Cemeteries. Susan has extensive experience working with First Australian communities nationally, with specific expertise in community consultation, empowerment and the facilitation of voice and storytelling. Susan previously held the positions of Executive Producer ABC’s Indigenous Programs Unit and Head of Production at NITV – a division of SBS.

    Helpful links

    • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Advisory Group Meeting Notes (See: Publications)