arrow Kids Corner
EN language selector search
EN arrow Contact search arrow Subscribe

Visit Woolwich Dock and Parklands


Free admission

  • Open daily
  • Goat Paddock and dock closed from sunset and sunrise.
  • Car
  • Bus
  • Ferry
  • Private boat
  • Foot

Clarke Road, Woolwich, NSW 2110


Google Maps

Located on the Sydney Harbour foreshore at Hunters Hill, Woolwich Dock and Parklands is a maritime precinct steeped in history.

The heritage-listed sandstone dry dock is flanked by two waterfront parklands – Goat and Horse Paddocks – making the precinct a great place for a picnic and outdoor exercise. A major drawcard is its breathtaking harbour view, which encompasses Cockatoo Island, immediately opposite Horse Paddock.  

Plan ahead

Planning to visit? To ensure your time with us is enjoyable and hassle-free, refer to the below information ahead of your trip…

Getting here arrow

By car: Woolwich Dock can be accessed via Woolwich Road and Franki Avenue.

By ferry and bus: The 538 bus service connects with the ferry service from Valentia Street Woolwich Wharf. For public transport information, including timetables, visit the Transport NSW website.

Private boat: Woolwich Dock features a jetty and pontoon, where people can pick up and drop off passengers by boat.

Disruptions arrow

There are currently no disruptions to accessing Woolwich Dock and Parklands. Continue to check here and our social media channels for updates. 

Parking arrow

There are several paid parking facilities near Woolwich Dock and Parklands, including the Clarkes Point Reserve Carpark (access via Clarke Road) and the Horse Paddock Carpark (access via Margaret Street). Parking fees apply between 8am and 8pm daily. Parking permits issued by Hunters Hill Council are not valid in the Horse Paddock parking area. Overnight parking or camping is not permitted.  

Fact sheet: Paid parking facilities – rates

Facilities and accessibility arrow

Woolwich Dock is accessible by wheelchair from Clarke Road while nearby Goat Paddock has steep inclines and stairs. Toilet facilities are located in the saw-tooth building at Woolwich Dock and in the Merrington Place carpark.

Emergency and security arrow

In the event of an emergency, dial 000 or 112 if mobile reception is poor. Additionally, you can contact one of the rangers and security personnel who patrol nearby Cockatoo Island. To contact a ranger during an emergency, call 0434 652 153 (8am to 4pm daily). Alternatively, to contact a security officer, call 0433 632 791 (4 pm to 8 am daily).

Visitor guidelines arrow

For your own safety, and to protect the site’s flora and fauna, please observe the following rules, enforceable by our rangers:

Conditions of entry: Do not go fishing or feed wildlife; do not litter or dump rubbish; do not camp overnight; do not erect gazebos or marquees (without a permit); do not operate remote-controlled vehicles (including drones); do not smoke on bush tracks, light fires or use portable barbeques; do not play amplified music (without a permit) or create excessive noise; do not undertake commercial activities (without a permit); do not hold private functions (without a permit); do not disturb plants, soil and rocks; do not ride bikes, skateboards or scooters on footpaths or walking tracks; and do not climb walls, fortifications, sculptures or cliffs.

COVID-19 (Coronavirus) arrow

As the situation unfolds, our priority is the health and safety of our visitors, staff and volunteers. Currently, Harbour Trust sites remain open to the public; however, we are monitoring the situation vigilantly.

Full details


Looking for a place to rest and relax on Sydney Harbour? Woolwich Dock and Parklands represent an opportunity to unwind on the waterfront...

Enjoy a picnic

Pack a picnic and head to Horse Paddock or Goat Paddock for sweeping views of Sydney Harbour, including the Harbour Bridge, the CBD and Cockatoo Island.

Boat watch

Head to Woolwich Dock, the home of supermaxi yachts including Sydney to Hobart contenders, and watch as these vessels are lifted in and out of the water or pull in and out of port.

Marvel at Sydney Harbour

Positioned high above the historic dock's sandstone basin, Woolwich Lookout offers an incredible vantage point of the maritime precinct as well as Sydney Harbour.

Eat and drink

A waterfront restaurant and function centre is located at the mouth of Woolwich Dock...


Update: Deckhouse has resumed offering their seated dining experience​. Further info: COVID-19 updates

Deckhouse is an award-winning café that pairs an inspired menu with immersive views of Sydney Harbour. Breakfast and lunch are served seven days a week, and the venue also offers takeaway. 

Deckhouse Cafe Woolwich Hunters Hill Sydney Harbour Bridge 650X550
Sonoma Woolwich Dock Hunters Hill Sydney Harbour 1920X660


Constructed between 1899 and 1901, Woolwich Dock is a rare example of a private graving dock....

During World War I and II, the dock was used to convert passenger vessels into troop carriers and repair damaged ships. Between 1963 and 1997, the dock supported the Army’s water-based transport operations and, in 2004, it received Commonwealth Heritage listing.

Due to its location at the junction of the Parramatta and Lane Cove Rivers, the area is known to its Traditional Owners – the Wallumedegal People – as Moocooboola meaning ‘the meeting of the rivers.’ 


Owing to the transformation of the site, following European Settlement, signs of First Nations inhabitation are no longer visible. However, it is understood that Aboriginal People lived in the area for thousands of years.

Further, Aboriginal sites that have experienced minimal disturbance have been identified in neighbouring areas Kelly’s Bush and Clarkes Point Reserve.

[Image: Sonoma (c. 1901 to 1934) at Woolwich Dock, Unknown photographer, Hunters Hill Historical Society]

Learn more